Drew Powell


Seasons/Priorities
December 11, 2008, 1:31 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , ,

So as you might have noticed, I haven’t blogged for a long while. I took what I thought to be a short vacation during thanksgiving which turned out to be much longer. Here’s the deal, I’ve been learning a lot lately about priorities and having different seasons in life. I’ve also been reflecting on my blog and the purpose of it. Here are a couple of the conclusions I’ve came up with;

– this blog has become about me.

– by writing to readers out there in the blogosphere, I’ve overlooked people that are right in front of me that God wants me to influence.

– it’s become an obligation and another thing to do on my list.

I’m not saying I’m going to quit blogging, BUT I am going to blog much more intentionally. It’s time for me to narrow my focus a bit. It also won’t as regular. Mostly because the pace of life is a bit intense right now.

I still get great benefit from reading some of your blogs. Specifically this one, this one, and this one. Not to mention this one, this one, and this one. Blogs like these among many others feed my soul. I will say though some of the most popular blogs that are becoming quite narcissistic are going to be deleted from my rss feed. I really want to find the balance of what is true community and what is a false sense of community. Like I’ve said before, I believe that a certain amout of community can be found in the online world BUT for me it’s very incomplete. There is value in blogging, twittering, etc but I get skeptical with those who go overboard with it. It’s a tool, not the answer.

In the meantime, I’ve been really enjoying using twitter and facebook. I feel like there is more connection. You can follow me here and find me here.

much love.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

