Drew Powell


My gift of “Grace”
August 16, 2008, 4:49 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , ,

My daughter Grace turned 4 today. We had a massive princess party for her at my mom’s house. In classic form, my mom went over the top and put on an amazing party for her. One she won’t soon forget.

This afternoon I was reflecting on the night she was born. I was in a place of frustration, burn out, and all the other crap that comes along with it. Satan had me completely twisted around on what I believed or thought to be truth. I was ready to give it all up until August 16th, 2004. A day I’ll always remember. Not just because of Gracie’s birth but also because it was the day where my heavenly Father revealed his love to me again. As I sat that first night, Jamie was asleep, and I was holding Grace in my arms, I weeped for this new love I never felt before; the love of a Father. I couldn’t help but ask God, “This is how you felt about me all along?”. I realized that my life is so much bigger than me or what I want to get from it. That love was about giving not getting.

God has brought Jamie and I to an amazing place in our lives since then. His blessings are too many to count.

I can’t wait until Gracie gets old enough for me to sit down with her to tell her how she saved my life; how she’s my gift, my gift of Grace.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Drew, I fully relate to how becoming a parent opens the door to accepting God’s love. My biological father was extremely abusive and the thought of God as a “father” literally made me angry and sick. That is until I became a mother; I experienced an immediate new found love the moment I knew I was pregnant and then when I saw his face and touched him I could believe the bible when it said GOD LOVES US!!! For me, on many occasions throughout the process of our lives, it has been my earthly son who has enabled me to not only see God more clearly but also grow closer and more trusting with my heavenly father. I REALLY LOVE MY FATHER!!!

Comment by Theresa

I’m so thankful for how God brought you and Jamie through. I totally relate to the grace message. If we’re blessed with another girl one of these days, grace will be in that name somewhere. Much love.

Comment by brooke

I heard about that party from Beverly. I’m sure no little girl has ever had such a party. She truly is a princess.

Comment by Dave Anderson

Life seems full of those crisis experiences…road signs that mark our path to fellowship with our Lord. No matter how different the experience the name always seems to come out…Grace.

Comment by Dave Anderson




Leave a Reply

