Drew Powell


Being trusted with influence
July 24, 2008, 1:15 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , ,

I’m a dreamer. I want accomplish things for the Kingdom of God with my life. I often have to check myself as to how I am living and acting. If you look at any great leader, musician, athlete, etc you see a pattern of discipline that allows that person to be great.

Any time I begin to slip, my attitude is sub par, or I’m faced with a moral dilemma, God always sends a reminder in the form of the question, “Can I trust you with influence?”. I know I’ll never be perfect and I’m cool with that. I do feel however that the level that God will use me will greatly depend on the level of much he can trust me. Will I give Him honor? Will I keep the right motives and perspective? Will I always be more obedient to Him then to what the crowd is saying?

I would assume there is incredible talent out there that God can’t use because they don’t have the drive, determination, and character to deny themselves. Whether that be in practice, education, chasing after God, etc.

I don’t want to be one of those people who sells themselves short of God’s best.

The good news is, as Robbie reminded me, whenever you fail a test God always gives you a chance to try it again until you get it right.

What do you think?

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Well stated, bro.

I read somewhere recently (note to self: need more bookmarks) to remember that our failures should not be interpreted as God saying “no”… it is our humanity… God is always at the ready to dust us off and help get us back in the game.

Comment by murphy24p




Leave a Reply

