Drew Powell


Blog Wrestling
June 11, 2008, 8:19 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , ,

So I know I’m writing this to the wrong audience. Most likely if you are reading this you are a blogger or at least enjoy reading blogs. Either way, you exist in the blog world at some level. I’ve really been wrestling lately with the why’s of blogging. I love it, I have built relationship’s on here and have learned a great deal from other bloggers. However, I also think there is a certain amount of responsibility that comes along with blogging. After having some lengthy conversations with a good friend about this subject, I’ve resolved to be cautious about several things when it comes to blogging. Here are the red flags and/or trouble spots of blogging.

  1. Don’t use your blog as a weapon. It’s not a venue to be passive aggressive or a place to deal with issues in your life that need confronting.
  2. Don’t vent on your blog. Venting should be done in private with a close friend, spouse, etc. Most the time after you vent, and calm down, and get control of your emotions, and realized the truth, you will be glad you didn’t post it for the world to see.
  3. Don’t let your blog consume you. My Blogfather said that he now blogs for fun. It brings him enjoyment and doesn’t add another stress or thing on the “to-do” list.
  4. Make sure you prioritize you blog. It’s easy to put blogging before things or people where it shouldn’t be. We say we don’t have time to exercise, read, pray, worship, etc but somehow we can come up with time to post multi blogs a day.

Here’s a couple areas of caution…..

  • When the influence of your blog outweighs the level of your character.
  • When you get wrapped up in the “popularity contest” of it all.
  • When we create a false sense of “Connectivity” or “Community” but in reality people have never been or felt more alone.

Do I believe that community can happen through blogging? absolutely. Do I think it’s enough? Absolutely not. I’ve built what I would consider great friendships through blogging, people that I’ve never met. The problem is, we can be whoever we want in the online world. How many times do we see that happening in our culture? Whether it be through myspace, facebook, chat rooms, etc.

I’m still a huge advocate of blogging, when it’s in balance. What are your thoughts? Have I missed the boat? What are some “red flags” for you? Why do you blog? How do you keep it in balance?

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

This is giving me pause to think. I started blogging to practice my writing, with a thought to put it to use somewhere…as calling, as vocation, or both. But a year later, I’m still just blogging. I think it’s time to stop practicing and start doing.

And I agree with the not venting…there may be a million blogs out there, but once you put something in writing, it’s there forever. You can’t take it back. Don’t blog rashly.

Comment by Brooke

Great thoughts and points about blogging.
“…Do I believe that community can happen through blogging? absolutely. Do I think it’s enough? Absolutely not… “…good stuff man.

If you would be interested in joining the yovia network.

We are assembling a growing number of websites as part of a community dedicated to building a new kind of internet – one free of spam and untargeted ads and hype.

http://yovia.com/join-the-network

Comment by Matt




Leave a Reply

