Drew Powell


Personality Petpeeves

Here’s are a few of my petpeeves when it comes to working with different personalities and within myself.

When we…..

1. work really hard to be heard when we really should shut up and listen.

2. play the “misunderstood” card too often.

3. imply it’s everyone else’s fault

4. never internalize

5. always have the victim mentality

6. don’t realize that everyone has it rough, everyone struggles, everyone feels at the end of their rope at some point.

7. jusitfy and rationalize our actions to fit our personal desires.

8. take the Word of God out of context and use it to prove our point.

I don’t intend to sound angry because I’m not. I’m just tired of whiny, self centered “Christians”. God has called us to so much more.

Mathew 16:24-26 “Then Jesus said to his disciples, “If any of you wants to be my follower, you must turn from your selfish ways, take up your cross, and follow me. If you try to hang on to your life, you will lose it. But if you give up your life for my sake, you will save it. And what do you benefit if you gain the whole world but lose your own soul? Is anything worth more than your soul?”

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

OUCH! I like it though.

Comment by carlaboone

4 and 6 have my name all over them. Those are two areas that I am seeing a need for growth in greatly. Oh for the grace to shatter these human weaknesses!!!

(It’s coming…I’m sure of it…in His time…which, if it were up to me, would be right freakin now…but He’s smarter than me…much smarter)

Comment by Dan

ummm… whoa there buddy. ‘don’t make me flip this table upside down and cause a scene!!!’ hahah… good stuff.

Comment by Missy

I’ve always felt there is a lack of self reliance.

I know were supposed to rely on God and the fellowship of others, but you have to be self sustaining to a point.

I like what you’re thinking there.

Comment by rlh27

Great post, bro. I’ve been trying to come up with a clever reply but I’ve got nothing… I’ll just leave you with the props and a nod-to-God for His grace.

.:peace:.

Comment by murphy24p

What a blessing and timely message for me! I keep expecting people to behave as they should and get depressed. Thank you for reminding me to let God do His business and I need to focus on serving Him. Bless you, Drew
Love and prayers for your ministry.
Ethel

Comment by Ethel




Leave a Reply

