Drew Powell


3 questions for growth part 2

Earlier in the week I posted a blog on mentoring and discipleship. I asked three questions that I reflect on to help me stay balanced and to make sure I’m growing. Here are my guardrails for each of the questions.

1. Who am I being mentoring by? This person has to be rooted and grounded in their faith. They have to have experience and have a strong track record. I’m not looking for perfection but someone who is ahead of me, paving the way on the journey. They have to be someone I have great respect for and have the attributes that I aspire to. They have to be humble enough to let me in and to share with me without feeling threatened. Also, I’m not looking for someone to give me all the answers but instead to come along side of me with love and get me going in the right direction. Someone that can listen, not someone who is anxious to straighten me out. They have to believe in me.

2. Who are my peers who I am accountable to? These are my friends who I know have my back. People without any hidden agendas. People who genuinely want me at my best. These people are mostly friends that I’ve known for a long time. We have history. They’ve seen me at my best and worst yet have stuck with me. I can take criticism well but if I don’t trust you and firmly believe that you’re speaking out of love and a strong relationship than I most likely will dismiss what you say. My close accountability friends have the permission to speak anything they want and I know they don’t intend to hurt me. It has to be a safe relationship, a confidential relationship.

3. Who am I mentoring? All of these people are ones who have come to me and asked for it. I don’t go out seeking people to mentor. Here’s why, if you’re not hungry to learn and don’t have a teachable spirit than it’s a waste of my time. I can’t force that on someone. It must come from within them. They can’t have any hidden motives for it either. Whether it’s to gain position, etc. I’m looking for those who are content with serving, not just doing it to put in there time until someone drops off and they can step up. God will lift up the humble.

Lastly, a mentor is not as much about ego and authority as it is about love. It’s about filling your spot. It’s about building God’s Kingdom and not your own. If you’re insecure then it doesn’t work. I’ve seen where it becomes about manipulation and getting people to serve your wants and desires.

Give me some feedback. What did I leave out? What are some of your guardrails?

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I love this post. I think its a great quick reference about mentoring and accountabiltiy. I especially love this line:

“I’m not looking for someone to give me all the answers but instead to come along side of me with love and get me going in the right direction. Someone that can listen, not someone who is anxious to straighten me out.”

Its hard to find people who want to listen a lot of people (including me at times) wants go give answers.

Accountability is so important these days. I agree with you its so important to have people you trust and are close too. In my case they are the few but they are CLOSE!!!

My guardrails are constant communication with those I love and trust. I call my closest friends often. I also read a lot of blogs of former & current pastors, I try to learn from their struggles and success.

Great post!!! Keep them coming!!!

Comment by Ben Mills




Leave a Reply

