Drew Powell


My Gift to Myself
February 25, 2008, 9:50 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I feel old. I’m not, but I feel it. I was born about an hour ago in 1982. This birthday is one of the best yet for me. I was able to go to dinner with my parents on Sat, dinner with my wife on Sunday, and have the house to ourselves while our kids went to their grandparents. We were able to relax and more importantly catch up on all the shows we have on DVR!!! It might now sound like a big deal to some but to be able to watch our shows in peace and quiet was an amazing gift. At the end of the night, Jamie and I realized how much we missed our girls and how weird it was at home without them. They make our life much more full and interesting. I look forward to getting together with friends later on this week and seeing U23D. I love my friends.

Here’s the gift I will give myself this year for my birthday, a fresh perspective. I have this weird thing that although I am young I feel like I’m past my prime and all the good years are behind me. There’s so much I want to do and accomplish but for whatever reason I feel it’s too late. It’s crazy I know. So this year, I’m going to change that. A couple of my friends have started their “bucket list” (things to do before you kick the bucket in case you haven’t seen the movie). You can check their’s out here and here. I’m going to start mine today and I’m also going to make a list of things I want to do before I’m thirty. Maybe I’ll post them, maybe I won’t. The point is about perspective.

I challenge you to have a fresh perspective on your life. God wants to use you no matter where you’re at. There’s still great things ahead. What’s your big dream? What are the things you still want to accomplish? What are the excuses you’re using to not run after those goals? I want to get some feedback. I’m sure that a lot of our “issues” are the same.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Dude, that’s awesome. I feel the same way..thanks for the inspiration and happy birthday!

Comment by carlaboone

Better hurry Drewben, 30 comes fast!!

Comment by Micky




Leave a Reply

