Drew Powell


“Find the joy in life”
January 28, 2008, 2:27 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Jamie and I went to see the movie “The Bucket List” last week. I won’t say it was the best movie ever but it did give me a good reality check. I realized how much time and energy I spend stressing over things that really don’t matter. My dad always says that, “Small things bother small people”. He may have stole that from someone else but it’s true none the less. I don’t want to be a small person who make a big deal of little issues. Most of the time it boils down to pride. People step on my toes and I take offense. God has been teaching me a lot about self denial and being a servant (but that’s a whole other blog).

The movie talks about finding the joy in life. Last night I was watching my girls and realizing how much they’ve grown already. I don’t want to spend their childhood stressed out about things that don’t matter in the long run. When I think about it, relationships are the joy in my life. The irony is, the busier we get the more we sacrifice relationships, therefore losing our joy. I want to spend more time focusing on that instead of “things” that don’t last. I find joy when I spend time with Jesus, my wife, my kids, my friends, etc.

If you need to find your joy, cultivate and engage in healthy relationships.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Good stuff. I’m keepin up with ya. I’ll email you…we gotta get together.

TC

Comment by Trent Cory




Leave a Reply

