Drew Powell


Camp Recap
January 22, 2008, 1:55 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , ,

So I I’m back from camp and all other weekend worship activities and here’s my take on the camp experience…..

  • It was cold BUT that added to the fun
  • It was good to get a change of scenery. Things have been kind of crazy lately and it was nice to switch it up a bit.
  • God revealed some powerful and personal things to me. I hope to share them soon but for now they are for me. I hope this leads to a much better drew powell.
  • I love relationships and being with the students is always fun. If I had it to do over I would have pushed through the schedule to make more time to connect with them.
  • I think a camp is only as effective as the ministry that’s bringing them. When ministries rely on a camp to manufacture something that can’t be built upon back home then it becomes pointless. You end up looking constantly for the next camp “high” and that’s unhealthy. I think Craig and his team at Tomoka are among the best out there.
  • I do think there’s something to be said for getting students out of their normal environment to connect with God.
  • I enjoyed working with Mike Waers from Tomoka. He’s a champion.

I know my last post expressed some doubt to the whole camp experience (which i still have), however I do see how when handled right it can be a very positive experience. Again, it’s about the individual and how healthy their support system back home is.

Do you have any meaningful camp experiences or maybe negative ones?

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

