Drew Powell


Lessons from Robbie (2 of 5)
December 6, 2007, 2:02 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , ,
    • Encourage those you lead to be themselves. 

    One of the first things Robbie said to me when we started was he wanted me to be who I am. Although I embraced that, it turned out to be harder than what I thought. I was so programmed to being who other people wanted me to be. We had an advantage because with starting a new faith community from scratch, we had no baggage or history. So, basically how I  started it was how it was going to be. I had to ask myself a lot of questions of “Who am I as a worship leader?” or “Who am I as an artist?” It’s real easy in these days, where praise and worship has become in many ways a style or genre, to find your own voice. Don’t get me wrong, I love all the resources out there. I’m just saying that because a certain person does it one way doesn’t mean it’s the “right” way for you and your community. It’s very liberating to be able to serve in the way you feel comfortable. Even little things like wearing flip flops helps me embrace who I am (trust me there was I time where I led worship in a suit).

    We were all created uniquely by God. Great leaders allow you to embrace it and walk in it.

      Leave a Comment so far
      Leave a comment



      Leave a Reply

