Drew Powell


What make an effective worship leader. (5 of 5)
November 20, 2007, 2:09 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

If I had to place the most importance on any of these it would probably be this one.

  • Personal Character/ Relationship with God

The times where I have been the most impacted by a worship experience are the times when I leave knowing that the worship leader has spent significant time with God. You can’t fake that or duplicate it. I know that if you’ve been in leadership very long, you can pretty much do what you do without much thought. I can pretty much put myself on auto-pilot and make it through a service (especially the third one in a row). However, I know I’m not at my best when I do that. I can tell a big difference in when I’ve been with God that week in how well I lead. It’s because I’m filled up and I have something to bring to the table. It’s different then trying to find something five minutes before you go up just to have something.

In the same way, you can’t get on stage and be someone different then who you are off the stage. In essence, you can’t flip a switch and be someone else. That’s why being authentic is key. If you don’t live it, then you shouldn’t have the gig in the first place. If you’re going through a hard time, invite people on the journey and let them see how God is faithful in your life. For a while, I was on a huge “rescue” kick. The songs I was writing, what I was talking to God about, everything was centered around that. Our church took that journey with me as well and I think they connected with it. It helps that it is the ongoing theme of our church but still I let the music part reflect where I was at in my journey.

It’s important that people see us working this thing out. One of my favorite scriptures is Acts 4:13,

“When they saw the courage of Peter and John and realized that they were unschooled, ordinary men, they were astonished and they took note that these men had been with Jesus.”

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

