Drew Powell


What makes an effective worship leader. (4 of 5)
November 19, 2007, 1:45 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,
  • Be Authentic

I get tiresome of worship leaders pretending as if everything is always ok. People don’t identify with that. Life is full of ups and downs, brokenness and tragedy. Sometimes the church tries to pretend like those things don’t exist and paint a non-realistic picture of life. I love the lyrics from the Tim Hughes song “I’ve had Questions”;

I’ve had questions without answers
I’ve known sorrow I have known pain
But there’s one thing that I’ll cling to
You are faithful Jesus You’re true

When hope is lost I’ll call You Savior
When pain surrounds I’ll call You healer
When silence falls
You’ll be the song within my heart

In the lone hour of my sorrow
Through the darkest night of my soul
You surround me and sustain me
My defender forevermore

I will praise You I will praise You
When the tears fall still I will sing to You
I will praise You Jesus praise You
Through the suff’ring still I will sing

Isn’t that what it’s all about? That through it all Jesus is faithful and true. I relate to that. What I don’t relate to is “My life is perfect, thank you God.” (I just wrote that. Feel free to use it). If you don’t relate to it then neither will the people you’re leading. In the same regard, it’s difficult for me to lead songs that I haven’t resonated with me personally. If I haven’t been worshiping with it in my personal time then I won’t be able to lead it truthfully. If I haven’t wrestled with it and meditated on it then it’s harder for me to lead it with conviction (maybe just a personal hang up?).

It can be a tough balance because as leaders we can’t afford to go around and speak our minds to everyone and call it authentic. However, we need to have the freedom to recognize the reality of life and show people hope in the midst of it all.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

