Drew Powell


What makes an effective worship leader. (3 of 5)
November 15, 2007, 1:59 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,
  • Know your audience

There are some things I know that will work at my home church and some that I know won’t. I’ve had to fight it because there are songs that I love that I can’t do. You have to understand the dynamic of the group you’re leading. Here are some things to keep in mind;

  1. Style – Although we should all be able to worship to whatever, the truth is, most people will struggle if they don’t connect with the style of music. However, I do believe we should continue to stretch our congregations towards diversity but you can lose them in the process. This leads me to my next point.
  2. Maturity – How spiritually mature are the people you lead? What will it take to get them to the next level? I tend to lead deep. You can’t do that if you’re standing in front of “pre” or new Christians. If you are so far out in front that you’re leaving them in the dust then that’s not leadership.
  3. Volume – Sounds simple but it makes a big difference. Mostly this can be determined by your target audience. Hopefully you have a target of who you are trying to reach and that will help in deciding volume. Stay true to your target regardless of complaints, whether soft or loud. There will always be people on the fringes that think otherwise.

You have to stay flexible especially if you travel and lead to different groups. You have to stay true to who you are but learn to adapt. This can be challenging. There are certain genres I stay away from because I know I can’t pull them off well. When Steve Fee led worship here, he asked me questions about the people in attendance to get a feel of where he should go with the set list. He didn’t come in with a “my way or the highway” attitude. His purpose was greater than what he wanted personally.

What are some of the other factors in knowing your audience? Give me some feedback.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Drew, I am loving this series on what makes an effective worship leader. You should get this published in worship leader magazine and or just start your own. lol I get more out of this than that magazine! Good stuff man! Keep it up.

Comment by bkblogger

very well said! Thanks for the insight

Comment by realchurchpeople




Leave a Reply

