Drew Powell


Maximizing Your Influence

This week is big for me because I’ll be opening for Steve Fee this Sat night for a worship concert at The Beachside Church.

I have to say that Steve Fee was very influential to me when I was trying to find direction for my life. He and his band did the Passion campus tour that was promoting the big “One Day” gathering out in Texas. This was before anyone had every heard of Chris Tomlin, Charlie Hall, David Crowder, Louie Giglio, etc. Fee came and visited my small school in Lake Wales, Fl and more or less turned the campus upside down. It was really the first time I saw the college students respond in a worship gathering. There were students that would travel to whatever campus the band would go to just to get more of it. I think it may have been the first time for me that I really connected with what was happening on stage. I probably was initially drawn to the style and the “cool factor” of it all but later it developed into something much deeper. It was at this time that I knew that this was what God was calling me to.

It makes me wonder, what am I doing now that provokes people to want to pursue their callings and passions? Sometimes we don’t realize the influence we could have over someone if we would take the time to invest in them and mainly just love them. Probably the most influential way is to just live out our faith with authenticity to the point where people want more of what we have. It’s something to think about.

With whom do you have influence? How are you inspiring them, challenging them, and/or cultivating their talents and abilities?

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

wow very cool to open for steve…he is fantastic…

I think being aware of who you influence is really important…theres my kids and those in my band but there are also people who I influence that I am not aware of much like fee wasnt aware of you…kinda puts some major responsibility on our shoulders

Comment by klampert




Leave a Reply

