Drew Powell


’92 Honda Accord
October 19, 2007, 12:48 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , ,

1992 Honda Accord

I’ve never been good with inconvenience. I like and appreciate nice “stuff”. Stuff that works. Stuff thats cool. I like gadgets and techy stuff. I like anything mac/apple. Once I get something I like, I stick with it. I buy the best guitar I can find and keep it forever or find the car I like and drive the wheels off. I was talking to one of best friends Dave Luke a couple weeks ago, he and his wife Amanda came over and spent the last night of our vacation with us. Dave is one of those guys like me, except maybe worse. We noticed how as you mature in your life the focus of whats important to you changes drastically. For instance, a couple weeks ago a bought my first pair of…….wait for it………walmart tennis shoes!! They were like $10.00!!! (and i love them). Several years ago there’s no way that would have happened.

I still slip back into my old habits sometimes. A few months ago someone gave Jamie and I a ’92 Honda Accord. That’s right, gave. Again, in the past I would have been somewhat ashamed to drive it. It’s sad but true. Yesterday, Jamie was driving it to meet me and the girls at my parents house and it completely gave up the ghost. It’s been acting weird (only starts about every other time you get in it) but yesterday was the big one. On my way to pick her up, I’m telling God how frustrated I am that I have to deal with this. “God are you kidding me, You really think I need this in my life, I know tons a people in this town and do you think I want to be seen on the side of the road with my beat down ride, I should be driving a nice car, I’m going to get me a nice car as soon as I get this one of the side of the road, maybe I’ll just leave it here and let you deal with it”. ridiculous right? I know God is loving but sometimes he speaks to me with words I understand. He basically slapped me upside the head and refocused my life. What’s important is my family, health, good friends, seeing people grow in their worship, etc. Not to mention that the overwhelming majority of this world would give anything for my Accord. So, here’s what I’m going to do. I’m going to go and get my Honda fixed and continue to drive it until it no longer can be driven or fixed, and every time I get in it thank God and remember the things that really matter in life. (hey, it gets great gas mileage)

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

[…] Drew Powell created an interesting post today on ‘92 Honda AccordHere’s a short outline […]

Pingback by Iphone | Apple | Mac Blog » ‘92 Honda Accord

[…] Drew Powell wrote an interesting post today on â92 Honda AccordHere’s a quick excerpt [ 1992 Honda Accord] I’ve never been good with inconvenience. I like and appreciate nice “stuff” … a couple weeks ago, he and his wife Amanda came over and spent the last night of our vacation with us. Dave … s important is my family, health, good friends, seeing people grow in their worship, etc. Not to mention […]

Pingback by Family Vacations » Blog Archive » ‘92 Honda Accord

Drew, I’d love to have your 92 Honda Accord.
At least its cute! =]

Comment by Lindsey A

so…i have to say…hondas are actually good cars. and the parts are not too expenseive either. so money-wise, it is an AWESOME car. and really, i think they are pretty good on gas, too…which is way better than the gas-guzzling SUVs that seem to be pretty popular. but i have another alternative that i am finding VERY excellent. GET THIS! i don’t even drive my car at all anymore. i take the bus. yup, public transportation. i pay about $60/month. i can get to work, church, the mall, wherever i need to go. $60! on gas alone i would spend about $100-120 a month. not to mention i would spend about 60-80$ a month on car insurance…NOT to mention that i would probably be making a car payment or fixing SOMETHING on my car. and the best thing of all is that i get to walk to and from the bus stops…great exercise (so i don’t have to buy that gym membership!), not to mention it is great time just for me and God! so…yeah. 🙂

Comment by Jen Gillespie

Sounds like my Plymouth Neon that someone gave me. Right now the radiator fan isn’t working, so I don’t use the AC and as soon as I have time or someone else offers to fix it, it will be fixed. Katlin hates it, says it is ghetto (maybe that is why I like it so much). Yesterday we saw a less than nice car with way nice rims and she said “the rims cost more than the car”. I told her ours did too, I have $20 hubcaps on the lovely Neon.

Praise the Lord, it gets great gas mileage and it is paid for!!!!!

Comment by Susan Kelley

Honda North is located just west of Butler, PA, and an easy 20 min north of Cranberry Township, PA. We feature a huge selection of new Hondas and used vehicles of all makes and models.

Comment by HondaBond




Leave a Reply

