Drew Powell


balancing thought patterns
October 16, 2007, 12:38 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , ,

My wife, Jamie wrote this on an index card and put it on the fridge a couple days ago;

“Whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely,  whatever is admirable – if anything is excellent or praiseworthy – think on these things.” (Phil 4:8)

How much different would our lives be if we did what this verse says. I’m a critical person by nature, most creative people are. Everything I do I want to make better so it makes me analyze and criticize all the time. I never take something or someone at face value. I’ll always see things with a critical eye. Any time I walk into a room, a church gathering, a house, an office, a restaurant I immediately start surveying the place for whats good and whats bad. Whether it be people, decor, overall vibe of the place, etc. The only problem is that unbalanced criticism can lead to a skewed perspective and ultimately destructive negativity. Although I criticize the good and the bad, what ends up consuming me is the bad, what needs to be fixed or attended to. I honestly don’t spend much time thinking about the true, noble, right, pure, lovely, admirable, excellent, or praiseworthy. I know it’s there and it will cross my mind and I appreciate it but I don’t spend much time thinking and meditating on it. In the natural it feels kind of weird and counterproductive. Like, those are the things that are already good so why does it warrant my attention. For me it boils down to appreciation and balance. To realize that not all things in my life are broke down and in need of repair. If I would concentrate on “these things” more, it would keep the global view of my life in check.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I think that we all tend to focus on the negative. It is easier for us to think about the things that need to change, than to think on the things that are already good in life. It usually takes something big, like a national crisis or a missions trip, for us to focus on and appreciate the good things. We should all start thinking about the good just a little more. Thanks for the post. It was encouraging.

Comment by raynay714




Leave a Reply

