Drew Powell


“Take My Life”
October 15, 2007, 1:17 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , ,

this song for some reason has been with me constantly. We did a modern version of it in our worship gathering yesterday and everytime I sing it, something else hits home for me. At first, it seems simple but as I mediate on these lyrics it deepens. I think for me, where I’m at in my life, this has become my prayer. It sums it up for me. let me know what you think. What in this song resonates with you?

Take my life and let it be consecrated Lord to Thee
Take my moments and my days
Let them flow in ceaseless praise
Let them flow in ceaseless praise

Take my hands and let them move
At the impulse of Thy love
Take my feet and let them be
Swift and beautiful for Thee

(Chorus added by Michael Neale)

I am Yours set apart for You
I am Yours hungry for Your truth
Take my life You are all I live for
I am Yours

Take my voice and let me sing Always only for my King
Take my lips and let them be
Filled with messages from Thee
Filled with messages from Thee

Take my will and make it Thine It shall be no longer mine
Take my heart it is Thine own
It shall be Thy royal throne
It shall be Thy royal throne

Michael Neale “No Greater Audience”

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Drew, this song is amazing, until thursday at practice I had never heard this version. Like you said, this song is such a great song to be made into a personal prayer, and cry out to God. You know how we were talking about writing songs about desparation because we are all so screwed up and need Jesus so badly, well I see a sense of desparation in this song, especially the verses. At first I didnt but then began to look deeper. Obviously the writer is tired of living life his or her way, wanting to give it away in praise to the Lord. “take my will, take my heart, take my life, take my moments……I can just see the writer on his or her knees crying out to God here. To be hungry for His truth is a good place to be, I hope I never leave, thats where life is found. Its good stuff. I, like you, want that kind of faith, where everything I am results in praise to God.
Good to see you while I was home, looking forward to thanksgiving, maybe it will be cold enough for a bonfire or two, i would love it!

Comment by bkblogger

It’s funny because yesterday I wrote down this verse during service:

“I am Yours set apart for You
I am Yours hungry for Your truth
Take my life You are all I live for
I am Yours”

It really touched me because I am so worried about others, and fixing things with people and I really have no business doing that. So I have coined a phrase when my friends have struggles or issues or frustrations, and I am using it for myself too. I say, Are you in the drivers seat? No. Let HIM lead you. All the worrying and planning and problem solving in the world cannot change that HE is in control. Sounds so simple but it is soooo difficult to live it. I am working on it! I love your blog. Your stories of fatherhood are very impactful and inspirational.

Comment by Kelly T

i love the lines, “take my moments and my days, let them flow in ceaseless praise.” so often i dont invite God into every moment of my life. i dont have my mind constantly set on Him. i want to be so in tune with God that He is always on my mind and my life constantly reflects Jesus. like you were saying, this is totally my prayer, that God would take everything i have and somehow turn it into glory for Him. thanks for the encouragement drew!

Comment by heids

This song just makes me cry, but then so do most praise songs. It just doesn’t seem to be enough…singing and how can thank you ever really describe what grace means to mean. My favorite part of this song is:
Take my hands and let them move
At the impulse of Thy love
Take my feet and let them be
Swift and beautiful for Thee

Reach out to people, love them, touch them, pray for them, go where God says and do what He wants…you can’t go wrong and you will be blessed!

Comment by Susan

yeah brilliant hymn…brilliant addition…and its great to see somebody realizing the brilliance of that michael neale CD

Comment by klampert

bonfires rock!!!!

Comment by jefferydpower

Drew,
Jeff Slaughter in Brussels, Belgium here. I’m worship pastor of an international church here and will be using “Take My Life/I Am Yours” tomorrow for the first time. Do you happen to have the chords? I’ve always loved this song and love it even more with Michael’s chorus added. The chorus adds a fresh response to a timeless hymn. If you could post the chords or sent them to me by e-mail at: JeffKathyS@hotmail.com that’d be great! Thanks!

Comment by jeffslaughter




Leave a Reply

